New Seasons

2013-08-14 (3)Today my oldest experienced his first day of kindergarten. I won’t lie, this morning was one of the most difficult experiences of my life. As I watched him sit in his designated spot, excited for the wonderment of the day ahead, I bawled like every other mother does when witnessing her baby grow up right in front of her. My stomach was – still is – in knots, because I know that “in the blink of an eye” he will be graduating.

It’s just another season of life.

But that doesn’t make it any easier to endure. Plus, now I have to figure out how to entertain a toddler without his big brother around to share the load. Ideas are appreciated.

To Everything, Turn Turn…
That’s just the nature of life, right? New seasons all around us. Heck, I left at the beginning of June to celebrate my 10th anniversary with my husband (even that floors me), and Ink’d was surviving. I came home to a growth spurt Kat and I could never have predicted. It’s exhilarating and, admittedly, scary. But change always is.

If we get too comfortable, we won’t be able to adapt. I could have very easily been the kind of mom that embarrasses the heck out of her five-year-old the first day of school, clinging to his shirt and whimpering into it like a handkerchief, begging him to stop growing up and forever plaguing his public school existence with a “momma’s boy” reputation. But, as hard as that was to resist, I willingly let go and stepped into the vortex of my baby slowly becoming a man.

Likewise, as Ink’d continues to grow, I could give into my OCD controlling nature and continue to edit every single article we produce for every project, just to have my hands saturated in the sweat of every word. But that wouldn’t do the company any good – or me for that matter. Instead, I must accept the fact that a growing company means delegating tasks to trusted freelancers so that Kat and I can continue to manage the business effectively.

If I’m spending all of my time clinging to the past, then I won’t have the fortitude to move forward, and could miss out on so many amazing opportunities and journeys. I’m so proud of the young man my baby boy’s becoming. I’m in awe of the strides that Ink’d is making toward success. I’m honored to be an integral part of both journeys.

So, suck it up, Michelle. Bigger and better things – and a handful of new seasons – are ahead. Hold your head high, temper your hands that tremble with excitement, and enjoy the ride.

[Yes, I took that image, and yes, that’s my little boy. Sniff.]

(originally posted on Ink’d Content)

Leave a Reply

